- >

該網站的幫助頁面和指南

擴大我們的戰略以結束大流行

通過科琳·奧爾多斯(Colleen Aldous&) Pierre Kory

人們普遍預期阿斯利康的疫苗將為發展中國家帶來福音。 但是它的到來令人失望,僅強調了伊維菌素(一種有效的抗病毒藥物)的事實。 COVID-19 –應該成為結束大流行的所有上述戰略的一部分。

XNUMX萬劑疫苗於XNUMX月初通過盛大的典禮抵達南非。 從印度到約翰內斯堡的交付航班受到密切關注,西里爾·拉馬福薩總統在OR坦博國際機場與該航班會面。 然而,幾天之內的一項研究表明,該疫苗僅能提供最小的保護,以抵抗南非最流行的這種菌株的輕度至中度感染。 現在,該疫苗正在分流給沒有這種疾病的非洲聯盟國家。

這些問題不僅限於非洲。 歐盟的血液凝結引起健康恐慌,並且擔心該公司在美國批准之前吹捧不准確的數據已經困擾了國際推廣。

我們希望這些問題是暫時的,並不意味著要阻止採用阿斯利康的疫苗或其他任何疫苗。 據我們所知,它可以很好地抵抗多種壓力,這是醫生為抗擊這一瘟疫所必需的工具。 但是,就像其他疫苗一樣,它遠非完美。 即使在最佳情況下,試驗也顯示阿斯利康疫苗可提供76%的防護 COVID-19 感染。

儘管伊維菌素不能直接與疫苗相比,但讓我們看一下它的功效。 研究表明,使用這種藥物進行預防可以降低患上這種疾病的風險。 COVID-19 感染率為92.5%。 這是基於對2,600例患者進行的七項對照試驗。 其中有六項是前瞻性試驗,與回顧性研究相反,有些則反對其他預防性研究。 COVID-19 治療方法受到批評。 這六個中的三個都是前瞻性的和隨機的,符合任何人進行可信研究的標準。

這些試驗的每個子集都顯示相同的內容:伊維菌素可通過降低感染機會來降低感染率。 百分之九十。 這不僅與針對阿斯利康疫苗的說法具有可比性。 好多了特別是在短期和中期之前,我們將通過疫苗獲得全球牛群免疫。

英國依維菌素推薦開發小組遵循世界衛生組織對數據進行薈萃分析的指南,  有推薦 它既可以預防也可以治療 COVID-19。 通過這樣做,他們遵循了證據,即伊維菌素既可以降低感染風險,又可以降低被感染者的不良結局風險。

從印度到日本再到墨西哥城以及兩者之間的許多地方,世界各地的國家和地方衛生部門都倡導或採用伊維菌素作為依維汀的護理標準。 COVID-19。 在抗擊全球大流行的鬥爭中,許多人意識到我們不能忽視任何治療方法,更不用說取得如此良好效果的治療方法了。

我們了解決策者為何專注於疫苗。 疫苗將提供比任何藥物更好或更持久的保護作用。 但是疫苗猶豫,供應和後勤問題將依然存在-尤其是在發展中國家。 我們無法理解的是為什麼忽略了依維菌素的前景的治療。 它是安全的,眾所周知的,並且數據表明它是有效的。

普遍接種疫苗可能是最終目標,美國有望比大多數人更快地實現這一目標。 但是那些被遺忘的國家呢? 伊維菌素可以立即而不是數年後立即應用於他們,並且可以預防感染並挽救生命。 我們要做的就是保持開放的胸懷,並遵循科學的發展方向。

世界衛生組織和 National Institutes of Health 現在擁有了推薦伊維菌素以預防和治療所需的所有數據 COVID-19。 那些想為所有富國和窮國立即結束這一大流行的人應該歡迎這一舉動。


Colleen Aldous博士是南非德班(Durban)衛生科學學院臨床醫學學院的教授兼衛生保健研究員。 Pierre Kory,醫學博士是前線總裁 COVID-19 重症監護聯盟。

-->

Help Pages & Guide for this Website

Expanding Our Strategy to End The Pandemic

By Colleen Aldous & Pierre Kory

AstraZeneca’s vaccine was widely expected to be a boon for developing countries. But its arrival has been a disappointment and only underscores the fact that ivermectin – a safe medicine that is effective against COVID-19 – should be part of an all-of-the-above strategy to end the pandemic.

One million doses of the vaccine arrived in South Africa in early February with pomp and ceremony. The delivery flight was closely watched from India to Johannesburg, where it was met by President Cyril Ramaphosa at the OR Tambo International Airport. Within days however, a study showed the vaccine provided only minimal protection against mild-to-moderate infection from the strain most prevalent in South Africa. Now the vaccine is being offloaded to African Union countries that do not have this strain of the disease.

These problems haven’t been limited to Africa. A health scare around blood clotting in the European Union and concerns that the company touted inaccurate data in advance of its U.S. approval have plagued the international roll-out.

We hope that these problems are temporary and don’t mean to discourage adoption of AstraZeneca’s vaccine, or any other vaccine for that matter. From what we can tell, it works fairly well against many strains, and it’s a welcome addition to the tools doctors have to fight this plague. But it is, like other vaccines, far from perfect. Even in the best-case scenario, trials have shown the AstraZeneca vaccine confers 76% protection against COVID-19 infection.

Although ivermectin cannot be directly compared to a vaccine, let’s look at its efficacy. Research has demonstrated that using this medicine for prophylaxis can reduce the risk of COVID-19 infection by 92.5%. This is based on seven controlled trials on over 2,600 patients. Six of these were prospective trials, as opposed to the retrospective studies that some opposed to other preventative COVID-19 treatments have criticized. Three of those six were both prospective and randomized, meeting anyone’s standard for a credible study.

Each subset of these trials shows the same thing: ivermectin reduces the chance of infection by over ninety percent. That’s not only comparable to the claims made for AstraZeneca’s vaccine. It’s significantly betterespecially for short to medium term before we have global herd immunity through vaccination.

The British Ivermectin Recommendation Development Panel, following World Health Organization guidelines for meta-analysis of data,  has recommended its use both to prevent and treat COVID-19. In so doing, they followed evidence that ivermectin both reduces the risk of infection and the risk of bad outcomes for those who get infected.

National and local health authorities around the world, from India to Japan to Mexico City and many places in between, have advocated for or adopted ivermectin as a standard of care for COVID-19. In this fight against a global pandemic, many are realizing that we can’t afford to ignore any treatment, let alone one with such good results.

We understand why policymakers are focused on vaccines. Vaccines will offer better, or longer-lasting, protection than any drug. But vaccine hesitancy, supply and logistical problems will remain – especially in developing countries. What we cannot understand is why a treatment with the promise of ivermectin is disregarded. It’s safe, well-known, and the data shows that it works.

Universal vaccination may be the eventual goal, and the U.S. will hopefully approach that goal sooner than most. But what about those countries left behind? Ivermectin could be surged to them now, not years from now, and could prevent infection and save lives. All we have to do is keep an open mind and follow the science where it leads.

The World Health Organization and National Institutes of Health now have all the data they need to recommend ivermectin to prevent and treat COVID-19. And those who want to end this pandemic now, for all countries rich and poor, should welcome that move.


Colleen Aldous, PhD is Professor and Health Care Researcher at the School of Clinical Medicine College of Health Sciences in Durban, South Africa. Pierre Kory, MD is President of the Front-Line COVID-19 Critical Care Alliance.